Marvel Reveals MCU Release Date Schedule: Black Widow, Eternals, Thor 4

During Marvel’s Comic-Con 2019 panel, Kevin Feige, president of Marvel Studios, detailed the studio’s plans for the next slate of entries into the Marvel Cinematic Universe, including release dates. Those in attendance got the first confirmation of the start of what Marvel calls Phase 4, which will kick off with Black Widow in May 1, 2020, followed by Eternals on November 6, 2020. And at some as-of-yet unspecified date, we’ll also get a new Blade movie, and eventually, the MCU will see the introduction of the Fantastic Four and the X-Men.

Eternals will be directed by Chloe Zhao and will be “full Jack Kirby” according to Feige. Zhao said she “just really really wanted to make a Marvel movie for so long. This film is about this group of incredible immortals but through their journey we really get to see what it means to be human.”

The cast includes Richard Madden as Ikaris, and he revealed that Eternals is about a group of “immortal aliens, sent to earth by the celestials to protect Earth from the Deviant.” He added, “I play Ikaris, the sexiest Eternal.”

Coming after The Eternals will be Shang-Chi and the Legend of the 10 Rings. Feige said the 10 Rings have been in the MCU from the very start and the real Mandarin is quite upset with the imposter that appeared in Iron Man 3. Tony Leung will play Mandarin and Awkwafina will be in the movie in an unrevealed role. Shang-Chi will be directed by Destin Daniel Cretton. The lead character of Shang-Chi will be played by Simu Liu.

On May 7, 2021, Stephen Strange will return in his second standalone movie. Doctor Strange 2: In the Multiverse of Madness picks up on something mentioned in Spider-Man: Far From Home: The Multiverse. Benedict Cumberbatch appeared on stage during the panel and said he’d be faced with horrors unlike anything he’d encountered before. Scarlet Witch will also be in the movie, alongside Doctor Strange and, as such, the events of the Wanda and Vision Disney+ TV series will be tied in.

The Phase 4 release rollout is as follows, including movies and Disney+ TV shows. For a full recap of the panel, check out our rundown on everything announced at the Marvel Studios panel.

  • May 1, 2020 — Black Widow
  • Fall 2020 — Falcon and Winter Soldier
  • November 6, 2020 — The Eternals
  • February 12, 2021 — Shang-Chi and the Legend of the 10 Rings
  • Spring 2021 — WandaVision
  • May 7, 2021 — Doctor Strange 2: In The Multiverse of Madness
  • Spring 2021 — Loki
  • Summer 2021 — “What If?” animated series
  • Fall 2021 — Hawkeye
  • November 5, 2021 — Thor: Love and Thunder

Source: Read Full Article